5 days in Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes Itinerary

5 days in Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes Itinerary

Created using Inspirock Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes trip itinerary builder

Make it your trip
— 1 night
— 1 night
— 1 night
Drive to Chambéry-Savoie Airport, Fly to Tashkent



— 1 night

Culinary Capital of France

Lyon is a historical city with a vibrant cultural scene as the birthplace of cinema, the silk capital of the globe, and the second biggest Renaissance city following Venice.
Start off your visit on the 5th (Mon): explore the world behind art at Museum of Fine Arts of Lyon, appreciate the extensive heritage of Vieux Lyon, then admire the landmark architecture of Basilique Notre Dame de Fourviere, and finally get to know the fascinating history of Colline de Fourviere.

To find reviews, other places to visit, photos, and more tourist information, use the Lyon trip app.

Tashkent, Uzbekistan to Lyon is an approximately 14.5-hour flight. You can also fly; or drive. The time zone difference moving from Uzbekistan Standard Time (UZT) to Central European Standard Time (CET) is minus 4 hours. Expect a daytime high around 34°C in July, and nighttime lows around 20°C. Finish your sightseeing early on the 5th (Mon) so you can drive to Vallon-Pont-d'Arc.

Things to do in Lyon

Historic Sites · Museums


— 1 night
Vallon-Pont-d'Arc is a commune in the Ardèche department in southern France.Vallon-Pont-d'Arc is a capital of prehistoric and cultural tourism. Kick off your visit on the 6th (Tue): look for all kinds of wild species at Ardeche Outdoor Sports Nature - Day Tours, take in the dramatic natural features at Le Pont d'Arc, and then identify plant and animal life at Gorges de l'Ardeche.

To see more things to do, other places to visit, photos, and other tourist information, go to the Vallon-Pont-d'Arc online holiday planner.

You can drive from Lyon to Vallon-Pont-d'Arc in 2.5 hours. Alternatively, you can do a combination of train and taxi; or do a combination of train and bus. In July in Vallon-Pont-d'Arc, expect temperatures between 36°C during the day and 20°C at night. Wrap up your sightseeing on the 6th (Tue) to allow time to drive to Chamonix.

Things to do in Vallon-Pont-d'Arc

Wildlife · Parks · Nature · Tours

Side Trip


— 1 night

Alpine Capital of the World

"Situated near the massive peaks of the Aiguilles Rouges and, most notably, the Aiguille du Midi, Chamonix is one of the oldest ski resorts in France and known as the Alpine Capital of the World.
On the 7th (Wed), admire the masterpieces at Musee Alpin, fly like a bird with a parasailing or paragliding tour, then take your sightseeing to a higher altitude at Aiguille du Midi, and finally take in the awesome beauty at Glacier des Bossons.

For maps, where to stay, traveler tips, and more tourist information, go to the Chamonix driving holiday planner.

You can drive from Vallon-Pont-d'Arc to Chamonix in 4.5 hours. Alternatively, you can do a combination of taxi and train; or do a combination of bus and train. Cap off your sightseeing on the 7th (Wed) early enough to travel back home.

Things to do in Chamonix

Outdoors · Parks · Nature · Winter Sports

Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes travel guide

Specialty Museums · Ski Areas · Architectural Buildings
Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes is a region of France created by the territorial reform of French Regions in 2014; it resulted from the merger of Auvergne and Rhône-Alpes. The new region came into effect on 1 January 2016, after the regional elections in December 2015.The region covers an area of more than 69711km2, making it the third largest in metropolitan France, with a population of 7,695,264, second only to Île-de-France.ToponymyThe text of the territorial reform law gives interim names for most of the merged regions, combining the names of their constituent regions separated by hyphens. Permanent names would be proposed by the new regional councils and confirmed by the Conseil d'État by 1 October 2016.The interim name of the new administrative region was a hyphenated placename, composed of the historic region of Auvergne, the river Rhône, and the French Alps. The same name has been chosen as the definitive name, which was officialized by the Conseil d'État on 28 September 2016.GeographyThe region borders Occitanie and Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur to the south, Bourgogne-Franche-Comté to the north, Nouvelle-Aquitaine to the west, Switzerland (Cantons of Geneva, Valais and Vaud) and Italy (Aosta Valley and Piedmont) to the northeast and east.