2 days in Marathon Itinerary

2 days in Marathon Itinerary

Created using Inspirock Marathon trip builder

Make it your trip
Fly to Eleftherios Venizelos International Airport, Drive to Nea Makri
Nea Makri
Drive to Eleftherios Venizelos International Airport, Fly to Lester B. Pearson International Airport


Nea Makri

To see ratings, traveler tips, reviews, and more tourist information, you can read our Nea Makri day trip planning tool.

Toronto, Canada to Nea Makri is an approximately 18-hour combination of flight and car. Due to the time zone difference, you'll lose 7 hours traveling from Toronto to Nea Makri. In June, Nea Makri is a bit warmer than Toronto - with highs of 85°F and lows of 65°F. On the 5th (Sat), you're off to home.

Things to do in Nea Makri

Outdoors · Tours · Nightlife · Parks

Marathon travel guide

Scuba & Snorkeling · Landmarks · Bodies of Water
Club Deportivo Marathón is a Honduran football club, based in San Pedro Sula, which currently plays in the Liga Nacional de Fútbol Profesional de Honduras.HistoryClub Deportivo Marathón was founded on 25 November 1925 in San Pedro Sula by Eloy Montes and a group of his friends. Ever since, Marathón has become one of the most prestigious clubs in Honduras, winning multiple titles. The Club Deportivo Marathon has its own sporting venue that has different fields for both first-division team to the bottom and even a tennis cement based foosball lit for night games. The venue has since improved through the years by the support of Friends of the Marathon Group (GAMA) and the different boards that have led to the computer.First title (1979)The club would get its first title in their history in 1979. Under orders from Ángel Ramón Rodríguez, Marathon was looking for their first championship in Honduras for the 1979 tournament. With figures like Roberto "Robot" Bailey, Arturo "Pacharaca" Bonilla, Francisco Javier Toledo, Celso Güity, Efraín "Pucho" Osorio, Ramón "Albañil" Osorio, René "Maravilla" Suazo, Jorge Alberto "Cuca" Bueso, Félix Carranza, Jorge Phoyoú (Uruguayan), Alberto Merelles (Argentina), Juan Carlos Wéber (Argentine) and others, the club remained in first place in the regular rounds, having secured their classification to the final.Second title (1985)It took six years for Marathon to get a new title. This was achieved in 1983. At that time, Gonzalo Zelaya (who was champion with Sport Club and Social Vida two years earlier) of La Ceiba was the team coach. In the regular season, Marathon was second in their group behind Club Deportivo Olimpia on goal difference. In the final round, Marathon was the champion with 4 wins, 1 draw and only 1 loss to rivals: Life, Motagua and Olimpia. In the deciding match in San Pedro Sula, in the Estadio Francisco Morazán, Marathon faced the Life. With a goal by Roy Padilla Bardales, the emerald table won 1–0 and was crowned for the second time in its history.