Most Holy Redeemer Church, Mangalore

4.3
HISTORY OF DEREBAIL CHURCH

Around seventy years ago there existed only a few Parishes in the city of Mangalore. From the time of Tippu Sultan’s regime those Catholics who survived after the incarceration returned to Mangalore and started living in and around the city and its suburbs. Further after a passage of time the people around the present Parish used to gather in a small chapel built by Mr. Peter Rego, which was approximately 3 Kms. , to the North-East of Mangalore. During which period a Priest from Tallicherry by name Rev. Fr. Joseph Mendes used to look after the spiritual needs of the laity here, together with Rev. Fr. Messiah and Rev. Fr. Cosmas Camillus. These 3 Priests were instrumental in strengthening the Christian spiritual needs and concentrating in the missionary work. One Mr. Luke Fakheyas was supporting these 3 Priests.

At this time a secret agent, by name Mr. Antony prompted the then Government authorities regarding the happenings of the Sacred Mission. The authorities wasted no time to arrest Rev. Fr. Joseph Mendes and sent him to Jalalabad and kept him in captivity. But in 1799 the British who ruled India, captured the Jalalabad castle and after a short while of time Rev. Fr. Joseph Mendes breathed his last.

In other words this holy priest who had a burning desire for the love of Christ sacrifice his life for Christ.

Prior to the inception of Urwa Parish, Derebail Parish was affiliated to Rosario Cathedral, and hence for about 6 years it remained attached to Urwa Parish, at which time a small Chapel as well as a cemetery exclusively for the Parishioners of Derebail was under control of the Urwa Parish, but then (in1948) no traces of evidence could be found in support of this.

During those days in the absence of not many Churches present in Mangalore, some 3-4 Altar boys from Derebail used to rise early in the mornings at around 5.30a.m., and walk upto Urwa from Konchady to serve Mass. May be Christ only blessed and inspired them as they had to return all the way back after the 6.15a.m. Mass and attend school at 9.00a.m. again at Urwa. Unfortunately during those days there were only 3 parishes in the vicinity i.e., Bondel, Bejai and Urwa; and most of the laity were attending the church which they found closer. As buses too were not operating like now, most of them had to depend by walking over the distances for the sick and aged persons attending Mass and receiving Communion was only a dream. Such was the situation for the people who were dwelling in Konchady, Parapade & Gollachil, as any one of the afore mentioned Churches were a question of distance. Setting up a church in any convenient location was the need of the hour.

Besides Derebail was a forest like place in which wild animals were dwelling. It was dangerous to walk alone after dark as one had to confront even the presence of tiger at times. In emergency cases people used to carry a torch made of straw and also a strong stick in company of others. The main occupancy was farming and flower business. The scenario was primitive with narrow mud terrain, straw roofed houses with attached stables for cattle, Kerosine oil lamps, Dens for chicken and pigs, mostly uneducated people though, very cooperative amongst one another, with greenery, clean air etc. The people working in their farms and gardens and one could hear hymns after angelus & rosary which was a daily system before retiring to bed.

As it was difficult to make both ends meet for their daily bread the building of a Church was also an equally difficult task. Despite all the difficulties the enthusiasm of building an own parish was increasing. Hence a proposal in this direction was put forth on 23-02-1936 with Rt. Rev. Victor Rosario Fernandes. But due to momentary constraints also of place to build one this proposal had to be put on hold. During which time Mr. Sylvester E. Rego came up with an idea of combining two plots on Mulageni and also by his own personal finance built a small Church. Subsequently completing registration formalities Mr. Rego handed over the Church to the then Bishop who accepted his offer and segregated little portions of Bejai, Bondel and Urwa and formed Derebail Church and made the dream came true for the laity of Derebail.

The news of establishing Derebail Parish was announced in the neighboring Parishes in 1939 and issued a Decree in order that this parish would start functioning on Easter Sunday of 1939, but the Bishop blessed it on Holy Saturday that year. The day was a jubilation & celebration day for the parishioners of Derebail. During the Holy Mass at 4.30p.m. with bursting of crackers and a lot of decorations around the Church building and its surroundings. The announcement of this was done in all Churches of the Varado. After the inaugural Mass the faithful of Derebail parish greeted each other by reciting Angelus and chanting praises to our Patron Holy Redeemer remain with us, Alleluea, Alleluea etc. This ceremony was attended by the then Vicar of Urwa Parish Rev. Fr. P.S. D’Souza, Vicar of Bondel Rev. Fr. John D’Sa, Vicar of Bejai Rev. Fr. L. Saldanha, Vicar of Rosario Cathedral Rev. Fr. V.L. Mathias, Vicar of Milagres Church Rev. Fr. Julian D’Souza, and Director of Fr. Muller’s Hospital, Kankanady Rev. Fr. Reginald Pinto. Added to this the faithful of neighboring Parishes also attended the function. In addition Mr. Sylvester E. Rego also donated, benches, chairs, cots and the Altar. On behalf of the Parishioners Mr. Cajitan Lobo (Parishioner himself) thanked profusely Mr. Sylvester E. Rego the donor. After clicking a few photographs of the people attended prior to dispersal. The Then Bishop nominated Rev. Fr. L.S. D’Souza (Laus) as founder Vicar of Derebail Parish effective 09-04-1939. The next day being Easter Sunday the first Holy Mass was offered by new Vicar Rev. Fr. Laus with much celebration, choir etc. following which there was Benediction and singing of Tridium.

So from the very infancy of Derebail Parish there started many associations such as Altar Boys Sodality, St. Vincent De Paul Society, Legion of Mary and so on. As the Parish grew on it nourished and flourished abundantly. Furthermore with donations received from His Lordship the Bishop, the Belfry and vestments were possible, and wit h donations given by the Parishioners and well wishers statues were erected in the Church premises. Mr. Denis Nazareth was the first Administrator of the Parish.

The boundaries of the Church/Parish were set by Mr. Casmir Nazareth, the Head Clerk of the Bishop’s House, and eight wards were formed. Gurkars were nominated to each ward, namely Mr. Alexander (Acchu) Rego for church ward Mr. Casmir D’Costa for Derebail ward, Mr. Baptist Cornelio for Konchady ward, Mr. Benjamin Vaz for Kapikad Ward; Mr. Mark Pais for Kuntikan Ward, Mr. Paul D’Sa for Bejai Ward, Mr. Hilary Lobo for Barebail Ward and Mr. David Pinto for Kavoor, Ward.

During this time the Holy Family School, Managed by Catholic Board of education; and St. Peters School at Kottara was taken over from Mr. Salvadore Goveas by the Bishop for a meager amount of Rs. 1,500/- likewise both the schools progressed with number of students and with respect to good standard of education as well.

The very first Parish feast of Derebail was celebrated on 09-11-1939 with great pomp and gaiety; But on the following day i.e. 10-11-1939 Mr. Sylvester E. Rego whilst reciting the Angelus breathed his last due to cardiac arrest. The next day funeral rites were observed by the parishioners; and the mortal remains was laid to rest inside the Church next to the Altar by His Lordship the Bishop. A full size photograph was hanged in the Church Parlor at the expenses borne by the Parish.

The Church bell was procured by His Lordship at a meager cost of Rs.325/-; and also a Post Office was opened attached to the Church.

On 23-05-1941 Rev. Fr. Aloysius Rosario arrived here as the 1st Asst. Parish Priest, during the end of this year the work of building of compound wall around the cemetery was completed.

From the very inception of this Parish there started Vocations Rev. Fr. Hilary Miranda (Diocese of Calicut) Rev. Fr. Joseph Fernandes (Diocese of Bangalore ) Rev. Fr. J. Nazareth (Diocese of Ajmeer) the newly Ordained Priests offered their first Mass at Derebail Church. Amongst the laity leaders Mr. Mark Pais became the President of St. Vincent De Paul Society. From the enthusiastic youngsters there emerged catechists and persons ………… in the up keep of the Church. And this time around (1947) C.Y.M. was established. So spiritual as well as cultural activities began to take place.

On 29-09-1947 the completion of 25th (Silver Jubilee) year of Ordination of Priesthood of Rev. Fr. Laus was celebrated with much grandeur. Together with 75 priests many Catholics and non Catholics alike participated in the celebration during morning & evening felicitations programs. At which time under the leadership of Rev. Fr. Aloysius Rosario founded the choir group. Rev. Fr. Rosario was not only the Asst. Parish Priest but also the Headmaster of the school, but was transferred and left Derebail. Meanwhile Rev. Fr. Charles Saldanha replaced him as Asst. Parish Priest for 4 months (26-5-1948 – 28-09-1948); after which Rev. Fr. John Cornelio (01-10-1948) took over as Asst. Parish Priest.

At the time the Parishioners were involved with flower business, cultivation, salesmen in cloth shops, printing press and daily wages coolies. Few were away from home in places like western ghats and Bombay. The timings of daily Masses during the week were at 05.45a.m. and 6.30 a.m.; and on Sundays at 5.45a.m. and 8.00a.m. There used to be devotions during the month of May and other part of the year there used to observance and Novenas in honour of other saints as well.

Year 1952 onwards the observance of Catechism day came into effect. During this year (15-07-1952) Rev. Choose to start, finish, or center your holiday on a trip to Most Holy Redeemer Church by using our Mangalore holiday maker app .
Create an itinerary including Most Holy Redeemer Church
map
© OpenMapTiles © OpenStreetMap contributors
Most Holy Redeemer Church Reviews
Rate this attraction
TripAdvisor Traveler Rating
TripAdvisor Traveler Rating 4.0
5 reviews
Google
4.5
TripAdvisor
  • Most Holy Redeemer Church or Derebail church holds mass prayers during sundays. and is quite big and accommodates quite a large number of people  more »
  • This is also called Derebail church. The church gives a place where Christians hold mass prayers during sundays. The place is quite big and accommodate quite a large number of people. Good...  more »
Google
  • This church is much different from most of the churches located around. The modern architecture is a point to be appreciated about this place. There is ample light as well, which is a boon for photographers.
  • An amazing place. ♥️
  • Build a plan

    Tell us where and when you
    want to go, we will build
    the best sightseeing itinerary
  • Refine it

    You have complete flexibility on your destinations and itinerary
  • Book as a package

    Use our travel agents to get
    package savings and hassle free booking
  • Enjoy your trip!

    Enjoy our 24x7
    on-trip assistance

Popular things to do in Mangalore

View all ›
4.7
Duration:2​h
3.8
Duration:2​h
4.7
Duration:2​h
4.0
Duration:1​h 30​min

Kid-friendly things to do in Mangalore

4.2
Duration:2​h
4.1
Duration:2​h
4.7
Duration:1​h 30​min
4.1
Duration:2​h

Side trips from Mangalore

4.4
Duration:2​h
4.6
Duration:2​h
4.0
Duration:2​h
4.2
Duration:2​h

Historic Sites in Mangalore

View all ›
4.4
Duration:2​h
4.5
Duration:2​h
4.0
Duration:30​min

Hidden gems in Mangalore

4.4
Duration:2​h
4.5
Duration:2​h
4.0
Duration:2​h

Nearby attractions in Mangalore

2.9
Duration:2​h
4.9
Duration:4​h