O'Higgins Region trip planner

Create a fully customized
day by day itinerary for free

Build your own package

+ Add destination
2 adults
- +
- +
- +
Trip Planner South America  /  Chile  /  O'Higgins Region

O'Higgins Region

Wineries & Vineyards · Specialty Museums · Casinos
The VI Libertador General Bernardo O'Higgins Region, often shortened to O'Higgins Region, is one of Chile's 15 first order administrative divisions. It is subdivided into three provinces. It is named in honour of Bernardo O'Higgins Riquelme, one of Chile's founding fathers.The Libertador General Bernardo O'Higgins Region is bordered to the west by the Pacific Ocean, to the east by the Republic of Argentina, to the north by the Valparaíso and Santiago Metropolitan Regions, and to the south by the Maule Region. It extends approximately between the parallels of 33° 51′ and 35° 01′ south latitude, and between the meridian of 70° 02′ west longitude and the Pacific Ocean.The capital and largest city of the region is Rancagua. The second major town is San Fernando.GeographyIn pre-Quaternary times extensive Nothofagus forests covered much of Libertador General Bernardo O'Higgins Region.The Libertador General Bernardo O'Higgins Region is part of the very restricted range of the endangered Chilean Wine Palm, Jubaea chilensis; in prehistoric times this Chilean endemic tree had a significantly larger range.
Before you visit Chile, use our trip planner to discover what you can do and see there.
Create a full itinerary — for free!
  • Build a trip
    Tell us where and when you
    want to go, we will build
    the best sightseeing itinerary
  • Refine it
    You have complete flexibility on your destinations and itinerary
  • Book as a package
    Use our travel agents to get
    package savings and hassle free booking
  • Enjoy your trip!
    Enjoy our 24x7
    on-trip assistance